Technical and background information

See the Selecting a site factsheet here

See the Napandee site study factsheet here

See the Lyndhurst site study factsheet here

See the Wallerberdina Station site study factsheet here

See the lastest Safely Managing Radioactive Waste Factsheet here

See the latest Why We Need A Facility Factsheet here

See the latest Site Characterisation Study Factsheet here

All Factsheets available here


A National Radioactive Waste Management Facility  (NRWMF) will bring together radioactive waste that has built up over about 60 years, which is currently stored over more than 100 locations around the country, and consolidate it into what will be a single, safe, purpose-built, state-of-the-art facility.

Radioactive waste is classified to ensure it is handled, stored and disposed of in appropriate ways.

There are three classifications for radioactive emissions - low, intermediate and high-level. The national facility will dispose of low-level and temporarily store intermediate-level waste.

Australia’s nationally uniform classification system is based on the International Atomic Energy Agency's general safety guide.   

Learn more about what radioactive waste is and how it is classified. The Australian classification scheme has been developed by the Australian Radiation Protection and Nuclear Safety Agency and is available on their website.


The NRWMF will adhere to the latest regulations on managing the waste to ensure that is meets worlds best practice. The NRWMF will dispose of Low-Level Waste and temporarily store Intermediate-Level Waste following strict quality assurances. The first layer on control is the Waste Acceptance Criteria which will determine whether the waste is acceptable to be sent to the NRWMF.